London calling

 

In 2003 I moved to London to work for a Danish fashion brand, moving from buying into wholesale. It was great to see how things worked “on the other side” and I knew it would add hugely to my experience. I had contact with all the best independent boutiques in the country, including Tessuti (my old employer) and department stores such as Harrods and House of Fraser.

It was fantastic getting feedback from the buyers and learning what they felt was important and commercial for their customers. I learnt about fit, colour, sizes, styles and trends. It was all great experience. I worked for the brand for 3 years and then in early 2006 I was made redundant when the company decided to move its womenswear wholesale operation back to Denmark. I had a choice whether I should simply get another job in wholesale or revert back to my original idea of starting my own business as a Personal Shopper? I made my decision and couple of months later I launched www.stylestruck.com, a website dedicated to my Personal Shopping and Styling business and I’ve never looked back.

Don’t get me wrong, having your own business is tough, particularly at the moment. But I’m working for myself, I can dictate my own hours, I can take every Monday off if I want to – but most importantly I’m doing something I love and I know I’m very lucky.

Leave a Reply

