Ideal Home Show S/S 11 Q&A Session

I had a really great afternoon yesterday (and last Tuesday) at the Ideal Home Show. I was speaking on a panel of “experts” about fashion and style – what we should be wearing for the new season and essential items for every woman’s wardrobe etc (http://www.idealhomeshow.co.uk/cws-fashion-style/). I had some initial pre-session nerves but as soon as I got the microphone in my hand you couldn’t shut me up and I thoroughly enjoyed it! Also on the panel with me yesterday were Clare Watson from “Miss-Dress” and her colleague Bianca Smit from “Who is the Fairest” – I hope we gave some good advice!

After the show… Bianca from Who is the Fairest, myself and Clare from Miss-Dress!

Here are some of my answers to the questions we were asked…

Q: What should we be wearing for S/S 11?

A: Bright colours are key! The easiest way to introduce them is by adding a really colourful scarf or handbag to your outfit. Bright shoes are another easy way to bring some life to an otherwise simple look. But you must wear them with confidence! (Something to note – people often think they can’t wear brights and suit paler, softer colours instead… Now obviously it depends on the shade, but as an example I look far better in hot pink than I do in baby pink, which seriously washes me out! Before perchasing just try a colour against your skin, hold it by your face and see if you look healthy or drained!)

Me sporting my new bright pink patent Ted Baker shoes from Bicester Village (£40) and River Island Scarf (£14.99)

Q: What items should every woman have in her wardrobe?

A: A great fitting pair of jeans (easier said than done I hear you say! On a budget try TopShop, French Connection or GAP; for the new “It” jeans buy Adriano Goldschmied and for a more classic/higher-rise pair invest in some “Not Your Daughters Jeans”), a decent leather handbag (that doesn’t look like you’ve had it for 10 years and isn’t too small, like something a child could use! The likes of Oasis, Warehouse and Topshop have great leather handbags these days, for the next level up try Russel&Bromley or go for broke and head to Mulberry, Miu Miu or Prada!! Why not – it’s an investment piece!!), a simply cut day dress that can be dressed up for evening (try COS, Zara, Reiss or DVF) and a tailored jacket to sharpen up dresses, jeans etc (my favourite at the moment is from Topshop for £55).

Q: What are some of the easiest trends to wear this season?

A: Apart from Brights, I would say that florals are an easy way to update for S/S. There are floral print tops, dresses and skirts everywhere but if you’re feeling cautious start out with a floral bag like the one below. Again, a quick word of warning about florals: unless you’re über trendy and an Alexa Chung look-a-like don’t think you can raid the loft and pull out a Laura Ashley “special” that you’ve been saving for the past 20years. The floral look this time around is quite, quite different!).

Easy floral update… Bag from Accessorize £30

P.S. I came across a fantastic company at the Ideal Home Show called www.littlelou.com… they make the most incredible “Jewelabra’s”… when they send me some images I’ll put them up!

P.P.S. Website info for all of the above…  Accessorize (www.accessorize.com), Adriano Goldschmied (www.agjeans.com), Bicester Village (www.bicestervillage.com) COS (www.cosstores.com),  DVF (www.dvf.com), Miu Miu (www.miumiu.com), Mulberry (www.mulberry.com), Not Your Daughters Jeans (www.nydj.eu/en/home), Oasis (www.oasis-stores.com) Prada (www.prada.com), Reiss (www.reissonline.com), River Island (www.riverisland.com), Topshop (www.topshop.com), Warehouse (www.warehouse.co.uk) and ZARA (www.zara.com).  

The Ideal Home Show at Earls Court, London

Leave a Reply

